double bass | bass guitar | moog | keys | programming


Duncan is the bass player for English folk singer Kate Rusby, keyboard player for Scots singer Lori Watson, a member of the Scottish classical/jazz/folk crossover GRIT Orchestra, a member of the folk-funk pioneering Croft No. Five, and performs regularly with Jarlath Henderson, and Ross Ainslie & Ali Hutton. He was also one of the founding members and driving forces behind Scottish folk supergroup Treacherous Orchestra 
Regular invitations to work with an array of world renowned musicians have seen career highlights which include performing and recording with film composer Craig Armstrong, touring the UK with Mary Chapin Carpenter, conductor/arranger Vince Mendoza and legendary drummer Peter Erskine, performing with Guy Garvey at the Radio 2 Folk Awards, touring the UK with Idlewild frontman Roddy Woomble, and performing and recording with bluegrass stars Ron Block (Alison Krauss & Union Station), Aoife O’Donovan (Crooked Still) and Sarah Jarosz (I'm With Her)

As "the bassist of choice for Scotland’s new folk generation” (Sunday Herald), Duncan has also performed and recorded with an illustrious list of folk and traditional musicians and groups including:
Julie Fowlis, Eddi Reader, Phil Cunningham, Cathy Jordan, Donald Shaw, John Doyle, John McCusker, Mike McGoldrick, Blazin Fiddles, Bella Hardy, Rachel Sermanni, Kris Drever, Adam Holmes, Ross Ainslie & Jarlath Henderson, Emily Smith, Jenna Reid, Damien O’Kane, Fred Morrison, Unusual Suspects, and John Goldie


Duncan has played on over 80 albums, here's a selection:

Craig Armstrong - Sun on You

Damien O’Kane & Ron Block - Banjophony
Ross Ainslie and Ali Hutton - Symbiosis II
Lori Watson - Yarrow Acoustic Sessions

Anathema - The Optimist

Maeve MacKinnon – Strì

Kate Rusby – Life In A Paper Boat
Daimh - The Rough Bounds
Blazin’ Fiddles - The Key
Fraser Shaw – Mac Ìle
Gary Innes - Era
Jarlath Henderson – Hearts Broken, Heads Turned
Treacherous Orchestra - Grind
Craig Armstrong – It’s Nearly Tomorrow
Ross Ainslie and Jarlath Henderson – Air Fix
John Goldie - Chocolate Maze
Emma Sweeney - Pangea
Jenna Reid - Morning Moon
The Outside Track - Flash Company
Finlay Wells & Sorren McLean - Eastbound and Down
Emily Smith - Traiveller’s Joy
Breabach - Desperate Battle of the Birds
Calum MacCrimmon - Man’s Ruin
Mairearad Green - Passing Places
Patsy Reid - Bridging the Gap